Picture
The way that we learn is through others, by observing their behavior, actions, or by listening. There is so much knowledge around us. This week has consisted of many Native American tendencies. In my usability class our group had to design a one dollar coin that had many similar mental models to other coins or paper money that we already have. We used to have a coin with Sacagawea on it that was worth a dollar. In reality the United Sates picked a Native American, who was a woman, and put her on a coin. Yes she did help Lewis and Clark along their journey but other than that most people don't know about her. She isn't a huge person that impacted the whole society. I know that sounds harsh but it makes you wonder why the United States minted a coin like that. It makes sense to put the president's on it because they helped shape and create the system that the United States has today. I guess they did it to make a point that females are important too. Don't get me wrong, being a woman I think that we should all have equal rights compared to men. We have come a long way from how it used to be. In society today, most men and women do get paid equally and have the same opportunities.

My religion class is such a laid back class. We all sit in a circle and talk through the reading. There really are no dumb questions in this class. We were discussing Buddhism the other day and my professor used an analogy to describe something about Buddhism and a student commented on it. My professor replies with well "Pocahontas got it from me!" Totally random and out there but its fine. He would have to be really old for Pocahontas to learn something from him or she would have to be from this century. It is funny what people say especially when it is unexpected. I wish I could remember what his analogy was. I think it had something to do with how a river flows, but thats beside the point.  


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.